• James R Kirk@startrek.website
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    12
    ·
    1 month ago

    I have notifications on when someone joins and maybe 75% of the time after I see the notification their account is “deleted” because they changed the privacy settings.

    It’s not the end of the world but I do wish more people wouldn’t automatically pick the maximum privacy setting so that we could actually, yknow use it

    • Holytimes@sh.itjust.worksdeleted by creator
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      2
      ·
      1 month ago

      Not picking the max privacy setting defeats the point of using it for privacy.

      Classic catch 22!

      • James R Kirk@startrek.website
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        3
        ·
        1 month ago

        Not really, it’s still encrypted. If you’re not a political dissident and just using Signal to chat with friends then it is helpful to make yourself available to said friends.